– Keep on Dancing 7 –


Keep On Dancing (KOD) is a dance competition held in China, and is one of the biggest inside Asia. It is organised by the place I trained at last summer – 舞佳舞/Wujiawu/5+5. One of my teachers is taking part. I’ve yet to hear from him to see how far he went, but I’m sure he did well. There are a few videos up on Youtube from the preliminary rounds. This is one of Popping J.

His legs and arms are long and really help to emphasise his boogaloo movements. I really like his style. Can’t wait to see more footage of him, Kite, Dino and my teacher – 飛龍. I also can’t wait to see the showcases by the judges. One of the popping judges this year is Seen from Japan. I had the pleasure of seeing him dance when I was in Beijing and  he was SICK –  and he was only grooving/messing around!!

KOD is one of my favourite competitions; not only because a lot of my favourite poppers are gathering into one spot to battle, but also because it marks the rise of hiphop culture in China. Just last year China took first place for the Locking division in Juste Debout. I can’t wait to see what the hiphop scene’s going to be like in 5-10 years time. I reckon China will definitely be a force to be reckoned with. 😀

    • boyuan guan
    • October 6th, 2011

    yo ~ im a student of 飞龙too XDD when did you last train with him?

    • Haha awesome!! Where are you based now? I went to Beijing summer of last year and trained with him and a few others. Cool and friendly guy! I had to speak to him in a combination of Cantonese, Mandarin and English though, because my Chinese sucks haha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

